An Evening with Late Schubert

October 7, 2020at6:00PM (UTC)

"Written in the last months of the composer's life, these two abysmal works bear witness to Schubert's closeness to death but also to his incredible compositional perfection - and to experience the quintet after the stirring song cycle is one of the most moving moments I can imagine."" -- Tanja Tetzlaff

  • Julian Prégardien – tenor
  • Martin Helmchen – piano
  • Christian Tetzlaff and Florian Donderer – violin
  • Rachel Roberts – viola
  • Tanja Tetzlaff and Marie Elisabeth Hecker – cello


Franz Schubert: Schwanengesang Liederzyklus (D 957)

  1. Abschied (Ludwig Rellstab)
  2. In der Ferne (Ludwig Rellstab)
  3. Ständchen (Ludwig Rellstab)
  4. Frühlingssehnsucht (Ludwig Rellstab)
  5. Kriegers Ahnung (Ludwig Rellstab)
  6. Liebesbotschaft (Ludwig Rellstab)
  7. Aufenthalt (Ludwig Rellstab)

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Lied ohne Worte op 30, No 1

Franz Schubert: Schwanengesang D 744 (Johann Senn)

  1. Das Fischermädchen (Heinrich Heine)
  2. Am Meer (Heinrich Heine)
  3. Die Stadt (Heinrich Heine)
  4. Der Doppelgänger (Heinrich Heine)
  5. Ihr Bild (Heinrich Heine)
  6. Der Atlas (Heinrich Heine)

Fanny Mendelssohn: Schwanenlied op 1 (Heinrich Heine)

Franz Schubert: Streichquintett D 956

  1. Allegro ma non troppo
  2. Adagio
  3. Scherzo. Presto – Trio. Andante sostenuto
  4. Allegretto – più allegro – più presto